top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCandace Burgess

Shifting Power in Educational Research

In the summer of 2020, I was fortunately chosen for the 2020-2021 Shifting Power Cohort in educational research and development. Shifting Power was an 18-month program sponsored by Remake Learning and the University of Pittsburgh wherein 20 Black and Latinx teachers were paired with 20 Researchers. The Goal of the program was to challenge traditional educational research and development methods by centering the voices, knowledge, and skills of Black and Latinx educators. While in this cohort, I was able to truly challenge my thinking and pushed past what I thought was possible for me as an educator. While part of Shifting Power, I created and began an early pilot of an education program called Temples for Tomorrow. While still in its infancy, I believe the model shows promise and I can't want to continue researching and developing the model further. To learn more about Shifting Power and Temples for Tomorrow, click the link below! Thank you for reading and I'm looking forward to speaking with you soon!!!

Candace Burgess

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page